Happy Birthday to Me

As of December 28th I am 45 years old.

I’m trying to keep the tears off my keyboard.

Not really, I feel great and I am hugely optimistic about the coming year. I expect to have several breakthroughs this year in my personal, business, and of course, golf life.

I have elevated my strength training and nutrition program to the next level and will be adding a golf specific flexibility program over the next few weeks. Flexibility is a weak point for me that I need to address and prioritize before the season starts. On a scale of 1-10 my strength would be around 8. On a scale of 1 – 10 my flexibility would be around 2. Tight hamstrings? I have to warm up for 10 minutes just to touch my knees. Not good. I will be investigating a few flexibility/stretching programs and keep you posted on my progress.

For anyone out there interested in increasing their strength I am in a better position to give advice in this area. I have a very simple strength training strategy…SQUAT. No, this is not an acronym for a complex training program. It simply means put a heavy weight on your shoulders and go up and down. If you are physically able to do this (with good form) this should be the heart and sole of your training program. If you get your form down and work hard you can (and will) make amazing improvements in your ‘overall’ body strength including your core. I do train my entire body but if I could do only one exercise it would be the squat. Nothing fancy here, have I made myself clear? SQUAT.

Anyone who may have advice when it comes to strength, cardio, or flexibility training as it relates to golf please weigh in!

Inflexibly yours,

Golf Experiment

Leave a comment