Why I Have a Chance

Some of you may be wondering why I think I have any chance in hell of playing professional golf considering my current situation, age and ability.

This is a very good question! I will get to this after a brief explanation of why I am doing this in the first place.

I was looking for a ‘stretch’ goal that I was extremely passionate about. A goal that would be extremely difficult (perhaps impossible) to achieve. A goal that would entirely change my life, in many ways, if it was successfully accomplished.

I am pursuing this goal for three reasons:

1. To re-define for myself what is possible in life
2. To challenge myself to follow my dreams and do what I love
3. To contribute to the success of others by providing an example of what is possible

Now…why do I have any chance at all?

I have always been and believe I still am (even at 43) a talented athlete. Although I have never even sniffed a career as a professional athlete I have played several sports at a high level and received awards such a ‘Top Senior Athlete’ during my amateur sports career. One drawback here is that golf was not one of my sports, although I did pick it up to a degree later in life, I am starting from scratch here. That’s probably not the right terminology given my current 25 handicap but you know what I mean.

I am in very good physical condition and expect to be in as good or better shape at the age of 50. My body type (6’1″, 180lbs) and strength is well suited to golf and I can leverage my ability to play a power game (300+ driving distance). Obviously, control, and my ability to put a great short game together will be fundamental to my success.

I have an enormous capacity for learning and hard work. These elements more than any others will ultimately decide whether I succeed or not. This, and a deep belief in myself. Is the ability to learn, work hard, basic athletic talent and belief enough? I believe it gives me a chance, an outside chance, but a chance nonetheless.

What do you think dear readers?

See the Poll at the top of this blog to cast your vote.

As always, all comments (positive and negative) are welcome.

I’m off to listen to my audio book ‘Zen Golf’ I feel the need for…peace.

Peace Out.