I Have Good News & I Have Bad News

The good news, my inaugural round on my journey to the Champions tour came in under 100.

The bad news, I posted a 96.

Front: 55

Back: 41

The summary:

  • Several fairways hit with drives ranging from 280-320 yards
  • 23 putts on the front side
  • Taking 5 strokes (or more) from within 100 yards several times

The best:

A hard cut off the tee on a longish par 4 (425yds) that swept around the corner of the dog-leg beautifully and left me sitting in the middle of the fairway with less than 100 yards in.

The worst:

Following this magnificent drive I took dead aim at a tucked pin. I waggled the club in a relaxed fashion as I focused on my target. With less than 100 yards in I loaded up my left side and prepared for an arms only shot that would stop quickly. The result? A twelve yard shot (if you can call it that) that plopped weakly ahead of me and slightly to the right. I produced a divot (in this case a toupee) that brought back memories of Bruce Willis in ‘Moonlighting’. I went on to tap in for double.

This shot barely beat out my four putt from 20 feet on the fourth but for some reason was slightly more frustrating (maybe because I like Bruce bald).

Non playing highlight:

Watching the ‘happy dance’ or our petite Asian playing partner as she came incredibly close to holing a 70ft. birdie putt. It was the most amazing dance of joy and excitement I have ever witnessed on a golf course (or perhaps anywhere). While this was very cute, I directed my girlfriend Marni to put me down if I ever did anything remotely similar on the golf course, or for that matter, anywhere else.

Most poignant moment:

As we were walking up the 9th fairway, just after Marni (a sensitive girl) had hit a poor shot, she looked at me and said “I feel like crying”. I could tell by the look on her face and the tone in her voice she was serious. I just looked at her and said “I know hon”. Now be honest, don’t we all?

This feels a bit strange, until someone else posts, is this the literary equivalent of talking to myself? Oh well.

As mentioned yesterday I will tell you a bit more about myself in the near future. For now, I am off to do some work on my ‘inner’ game.

Fore!